Best sport movie other mistakes of all time

Please vote as you browse around to help the best rise to the top.

D2: The Mighty Ducks picture

Other mistake: When Adam comes in and says "when I woke up this morning, the pain was gone", Connie is mouthing his lines behind him.

More D2: The Mighty Ducks other mistakes
The Natural picture

Other mistake: In Roy Hobbs' last at bat of the movie he takes the 1st pitch for a called strike (confirmed by closed captioning). The 2nd pitch is called a ball. The Pittsburgh manager then decides to change pitchers with the count at 1-1. The relief pitcher's 1st pitch is fouled into the press box making the count 1 ball and 2 strikes. The 2nd pitch from the relief pitcher is swung on and missed, and should be strike 3. Hobbs stays in the box and hits a long fly ball foul and hits a HR on the next pitch. Roy Hobbs should have struck out. (02:06:20 - 02:12:05)

jasoncc2

Upvote valid corrections to help move entries into the corrections section.

Suggested correction: Like most umpire calls, the ump's wording of "Ball" on the first pitch isn't obvious until you hear the difference in the first "Strike" call. The count was not 1 and 1 when they brought in the new pitcher, it was 2 and 0.

If the umpire called the first pitch a ball then why does the closed captioning say strike?

Mistake in captioning and also by the announcer. If you look at the ball as it passes Roy, it is head high and the catcher has to reach to his left to catch the ball. Clearly, Levinson called for the pitch to be a ball. Ball one.

It's not a mistake in captioning because after the Umpire calls it a Strike, you can hear the announcer say "Strike One", it's low because of the crowd noise but he says it. It's even in the Director's Cut, then magically on the next pitch the count changes and the announcer says "Ball Two"

You can also hear the radio announcer say strike.

The man calling the game over the radio said it was a strike. However, the pitch was up at eye level and a ball. The ump sounds like he's saying "ball" and the Pirates' coach looks upset at the pitcher, which seems fitting for a pitched ball.

The closed captioning always gets words wrong! Always! Gotta watch that. That being said I'm here bc I thought he had 4 as well.

The mistake seems valid. It does look like the ump says strike on the first pitch. The announcer even says "strike one" and then goes on to talk about how Hobbs has already struck out twice, so this has nothing to do with subtitles. Watching this on Netflix you can tell the word "ball" has been dubbed over the word strike on the first pitch. In the book, Hobbs strikes out on his final at-bat. It seems like the film makers were going to have him strike out, which a strike on a 1-2 count after the foul would have done, but decided to change it (maybe the ending tested poorly with audiences). Rather than reshoot the whole thing, they just dubbed over the ump to make it a 2-1 count.

Bishop73

Makes more sense that the manager would pull the pitcher on 2-0 count vs 1-1.

The announcer also said it was a strike.

Suggested correction: When the pitcher is changed, the count is 2-0.

That is not correct. It's 1-1.

Bishop73

More The Natural other mistakes
Rocky III picture

Other mistake: At the beginning of the scene when Rocky's statue is unveiled and Clubber Lang challenges Rocky to a fight, the camera zooms out of one of the drums that is being played and it is easy to spot that Mr. T's signature is scrawled right across the centre of the drum.

More Rocky III other mistakes
The Karate Kid Part II picture

Other mistake: When Chozen is buying vegetables from the villagers, one of the weights from the scale is knocked onto the ground. Daniel picks it up and realises that its not a real weight and breaks it in half. If Chozen wanted to cheat the villagers when he weighed their vegetables, he would need weights that were heavier than normal, not lighter plastic ones. Lighter weights would mean that Chozen would need to add far more of the light weights to make any amount of vegetables balance out, therefore he would be paying more for the vegetables than they are worth.

More The Karate Kid Part II other mistakes
Happy Gilmore picture

Other mistake: When Happy hits the ball in the alligators mouth, he is on the complete other side of the lake where the gator is located, and there is a crowd of people blocking his view, but somehow he can still see through the people and over the lake, to notice the gator taking his ball.

Sir William

More Happy Gilmore other mistakes
Ready to Rumble picture

Other mistake: In the scene with the last match between DDP and Jimmy King, when Jimmy King is on top of the cage and grabs the belt, he is holding it up. It shows the belt has a nameplate on it saying Jimmy King. If DDP was the champ, wouldn't the nameplate read DDP, or Diamond Dallas Page?

More Ready to Rumble other mistakes
Space Jam picture Space Jam mistake picture

Other mistake: Near the end of the closing credits, when the Warner Bros. Copyright appears, you'll see the very first word "All" spelled incorrectly as "Al" in "All material is protected by Copyright Laws of the United States and other countries throughout the world." (01:26:40)

Khiam Mincey

More Space Jam other mistakes
3 Ninjas picture

Other mistake: When the three ninjas are kidnapped and locked in that room, Tum-Tum is complaining about being hungry. Later on, before the fighting match between Grandpa and Snider, Tum-Tum gives Grandpa jelly beans. Why didn't Tum-Tum just eat those before?

More 3 Ninjas other mistakes
The Karate Kid III picture

Other mistake: When Miyagi throws Mike into the light switches, the lights go out but the switches never change position.

More The Karate Kid III other mistakes
Cars picture

Other mistake: Lightning Mcqueen is trying to become the first rookie in Piston Cup history to win the Piston Cup, but Doc Hudson won the Piston Cup in 1951 the first year that Hudson Hornets were produced, which also would have made him a rookie.

mpc2876

Upvote valid corrections to help move entries into the corrections section.

Suggested correction: This assumes that the development of this universe follows the same rules as ours.

LorgSkyegon

Not only that, but Doc is supposed to be 20 years old when he becomes a rookie racer. So he wasn't born in 1951. But he is said to have won the Piston Cup as a rookie.

Bishop73

Suggested correction: Darrell actually said, "And land Dinoco?" So that means Lightning is actually the first rookie to win the Piston Cup and land Dinoco.

First, Darrell made that statement before the race. But it wasn't about the first rookie to do both because McQueen says of the Piston Cup "I'll be the first rookie in history ever to win it."

Bishop73

More Cars other mistakes
Major League picture

Other mistake: During the one game playoff against the Yankees, the runner Taylor picks off at first base has the same number as the batter who had just struck out. Also, the number they both wear has been long since retired by the Yankees and therefore no player could ever wear it again. Again, in the first game against the Yankees, the first base coach also has the same number, making it three Yankee players with the number 37.

More Major League other mistakes
D3: The Mighty Ducks picture

Other mistake: After Guy gets hurt in the warriors/ducks game, the scoreboard is shown. It says that there is 15 seconds left in the third period, when it is really the second period.

More D3: The Mighty Ducks other mistakes
The Longest Yard picture The Longest Yard mistake picture

Other mistake: In the library scene, the guards are harassing the inmate by throwing books on the floor to make him pick them up.One of the guards drops a book on the floor to tell the inmate that he missed one but when he comes back to pick it up he actually picks up 3 books. (00:48:50)

scaryterri Premium member

More The Longest Yard other mistakes

Ali (2001)

Ali picture

Other mistake: When Malcom X walks out on to preach before he gets shot, you can clearly see the podium with the bullets in it and chipped from the guns before he gets shot.

More Ali other mistakes
The Karate Kid picture

Other mistake: In the semi-final where John Lawrence fights against Darryl Vidal, the female referee has major problems of what to do. When Lawrence gets his first point, the referee first raises her red flag (Vidal is wearing the red ribbon) but then swiftly changes her mind. And when Lawrence gets his third point, the female referee again incorrectly raises her red flag.

More The Karate Kid other mistakes
Caddyshack picture

Other mistake: During the dinner party scene, Carl is going gopher hunting. The shot of him approaching the tree shows it's daylight in the background, when the previous shot showed it very very dark out.

More Caddyshack other mistakes
Tin Cup picture

Other mistake: When Roy is about to hit the ball off the porta-potty, the TV commentator bets Romeo that he won't hit the shot onto the green. Roy's shot ends up on the fringe of the green, not on the putting surface itself (an important difference), but Dewey collects the bet.

More Tin Cup other mistakes
Friday Night Lights picture Friday Night Lights mistake picture

Other mistake: When Don and his father are driving home and Don's father throws his ring out the window, Don gets out to search for the ring and you can see wet marks on his shins from kneeling on the wet road. However, he hasn't knelt down yet. It must have been from previous takes. Also, when he gets up after kneeling down, his jeans are dry. (01:01:50)

More Friday Night Lights other mistakes
Herbie: Fully Loaded picture

Other mistake: When the NASCAR pit crew starts working on Herbie at the barn, they initially pull a bunch of parts and tools from their racetrack trailer. One man is carrying a distinctive VW-only wheel rim, which would definitely not fit their regular NASCAR car. The decision to race Herbie had just been made, so they would not have been carrying VW spare parts yet. Nor could they have pulled one of Herbie's wheels yet since they were still carrying the jack to the barn.

More Herbie: Fully Loaded other mistakes
The Bad News Bears picture

Other mistake: In the championship game, the Yankees batter hits a foul ball when they score their winning runs.

More The Bad News Bears other mistakes

Join the mailing list

Separate from membership, this is to get updates about mistakes in recent releases. Addresses are not passed on to any third party, and are used solely for direct communication from this site. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Check out the mistake & trivia books, on Kindle and in paperback.